TL;DR
Get smart everyday buys delivered free — and shop member deals
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
NS&I has increased rates on eight fixed-rate savings accounts covering one-, two-, three- and five-year terms, the second round of increases in two months, according to MoneyWeek. Several accounts now pay more than 5%, but the available information does not identify their exact rates or establish whether they lead the market.
NS&I has raised rates on eight fixed-rate savings accounts across one-, two-, three- and five-year terms, in its second increase in two months, MoneyWeek reported. Several accounts now pay more than 5%, but the information supplied does not show the precise rates or confirm whether they are among the market’s best buys.
The rate changes cover NS&I fixed-rate accounts with one-, two-, three- and five-year terms. MoneyWeek describes eight accounts as receiving increases. It does not specify in the supplied report which individual products within those terms changed, their previous rates, or their new rates.
The report says several accounts now pay above 5%. That figure is a rate level, not evidence that every account pays more than 5% or that the products outperform alternatives. The article’s headline poses the best-buy question, but the supplied material gives no competitor rates or comparison table to settle it.
The changes follow an earlier round of increases within the past two months, according to MoneyWeek. The report identifies NS&I as Treasury-backed, but provides no details on the effective dates, account conditions, access restrictions, or whether existing customers receive the new rates automatically.
How Savers Can Judge the New Rates
Higher fixed rates can improve the return available to savers willing to leave money untouched for a set term. The choice of term matters: a one-year account ties up funds for less time than a five-year account, while rates and access rules can differ between products. The supplied report does not provide enough detail to weigh those trade-offs for NS&I’s individual accounts.
A rate above 5% does not by itself make an account a best buy. Savers need to compare the actual rate for the term they want, the account’s opening and deposit rules, and the consequences of withdrawing early. They should also check whether the quoted rate applies to new deposits only or to existing holdings. None of those product-specific points is established in the supplied report.
best high yield savings accounts 2026
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
A Second Increase in Two Months
MoneyWeek reports that this is NS&I’s second rate increase in two months for the fixed-rate accounts covered. The latest change applies across four stated term lengths: one, two, three and five years. The source material does not give dates or describe the earlier adjustment, so the size and pace of the changes cannot be compared here.
NS&I is Treasury-backed, a point noted in MoneyWeek’s report. That identifies the provider but does not answer whether its new rates are competitive. Establishing that would require current rates and terms from other providers, alongside NS&I’s full product conditions. No such comparison is included in the material provided.
“NS&I has hiked rates on eight of its fixed-rate savings accounts for the second time in two months.”
— MoneyWeek
fixed rate savings account 5 years
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Rates and Account Terms Still Missing
The supplied report does not state the exact new or previous rates for the eight accounts, the date the changes take effect, or which specific products were included. It also does not say whether the increases apply to existing customers, what minimum or maximum deposits apply, or whether early access is possible.
Whether these accounts are best buys remains unconfirmed on the available information. That judgment depends on current competing offers and the full terms of each account, neither of which is provided here. The claim that several accounts pay above 5% should not be read as a market ranking.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Check Full Rates Before Applying
Savers considering an NS&I account should check the provider’s current rate sheet and product conditions before applying, then compare the same term with other available fixed-rate accounts. They should confirm the effective date, eligibility, deposit limits and withdrawal rules, as well as whether the rate applies to their circumstances.
MoneyWeek’s supplied report does not state when NS&I will publish further changes or whether another rate adjustment is planned. For now, the confirmed development is the reported increase across eight accounts; the precise rates and their position against competitors require further verification.
top savings accounts with over 5% interest
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
Which NS&I accounts had their rates increased?
MoneyWeek reports increases across eight fixed-rate accounts spanning one-, two-, three- and five-year terms. The supplied report does not identify every individual account.
Do the new rates all exceed 5%?
No such conclusion is supported. MoneyWeek says several now pay more than 5%; it does not say all eight do.
Are NS&I’s new rates the best available?
The supplied information does not establish that. It includes no current comparison with other providers, and the exact NS&I rates are not given.
When do the increases take effect?
The supplied report does not state the effective date. Savers should check NS&I’s current product information for the latest rates and terms.
Source: rss
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
